2154 Poetry #23 – Treading water.

A werewolf among men, a lone bear cub on the forest floor,
I’m at peace in the sun, all the blue’s in the sky far above.
Nighttime tugs on the reins, my tired knuckles must let go.
My head droops, eyes close, spine pressed to the crack in the door.
Face forward falling into my bed, clinging bedspread wet from my sweat.
Brain half full, full of your face,
your smile and your nose and how you left no trace.
No more room in my skull as I spill open into the bed,
covering the floor,
and the walls,
till the whole world reeks of you.
My weightless body submerged in red, black and blue.
I don’t sink, I can’t float,
I lay suspended in motion with neither end nor course.
Daylight cracks open my curtain,
the fluid in my lungs make room for air.
Familiar voices filter through my mind,
the hinge of my jaw unclenches,
wrinkles recede from my forehead,
gravity forgives my eyelids.
I wake up into a brand-new day.
An entire world of possibilities, disgustingly bright.
But the only thing I want to do,
is to fall back and drown in you.

-f.s






Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑